Monday, June 21

5 of 7 Former Ministers Protected Wins in Jammu and Kashmir DDC Polls

5 of 7 Former Ministers Protected Wins in Jammu and Kashmir DDC Polls

5 out of the 7 former ministers who contested the DDC election in Jammu and Kashmir have gained, even though two belonging to the BJP suffered defeats, in accordance to knowledge issued by the condition election authority (SEA). Senior Congress chief and former minister Taj Mohiuddin, who was in the fray for Parenpillan constituency of Uri tehsil in north Kashmir’s Baramulla district, won the seat with a margin of 1,596 votes, officials said.

Taj, who held quite a few conditions as minister and MLA, polled 9,741 votes in opposition to the Peoples Meeting (Computer) chief Shaukat Ali Khan, who acquired 4,451 votes in the initially-ever District Progress Council (DDC) election. Mohiuddin, the 72-year-old Gujjar leader who is struggling with CBI probe into the Roshi land scam, fought versus Khan. Supported by Farooq Abdullah’s Jammu and Kashmir Nationwide Convention (NC) and Mehbooba Mufti’s J&K Peoples Democratic Bash (PDP), Mohiuddin is the consensus applicant from the People’s Alliance for Gupkar Declaration (PAGD).

Regarded as the Congress’ ‘crown’, Taj has represented Uri thrice as MLA. He has functioned as a cupboard minister in the governments of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Omar Abdullah.

Veteran NC leader and former minister Abdul Gani, who contested from Mahore seat in Reasi district, received the election by a margin of 351 votes. He polled 4,833 votes and defeated unbiased candidate Shafi-ur-Rehman, who obtained 4,482 votes. Gani has been MLA and a previous minister in the Omar Abdullah governing administration. Jagjeevan Lal, a senior NC chief and previous minister, received the Reasi seat by defeating BJP’s Chaman Lal by 237 votes. Lal polled 4,507 votes versus Lal’s 4270.

Former Congress minister and veteran Gujjar leader Ajaz Ahmed Khan, who joined the J&K Apni Get together, gained the DDC election from Thuroo phase of Reasi district by 1,578 votes, in accordance to the SEA facts. Ajaz Khan polled 4,904 votes, whilst Mohmmad Ashraf of the NC polled 3,326 votes. A two-time MLA, Ajaj Khan was a minister in the NC-Congress govt.

A veteran Pahari leader and former Congress minister, Shabir Ahmed Khan gained the Manjakote seat in Rajouri district with a margin of 3,394 votes as he polled 8,714 votes against Shafat Khan, who got 5,320 votes. Shabir Khan was minister in the NC-Congress federal government led Omar Abdullah. Former BJP ministers Sham Lal Choudhary and Shakti Raj Parihar, having said that, dropped their seat from Jammu and Doda districts.

Choudhary dropped his election in Suchetgarh constituency of Jammu district by 11 votes, which according to the officials is the “smallest” margin so far in the DDC polls. Choudhary polled 12,958 votes towards impartial candidate Taranjit Singh, who polled 12,969 votes.

A cupboard minister in the BJP-PDP coalition federal government in the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir, Choudhary experienced gained the assembly election from Suchetgarh constituency in 2008 and 2014 and is regarded to be a impressive chief in the border belt of R S Pura. One more former minister of the Bharatiya Janata Social gathering (BJP), Shakti Raj Parihar misplaced the two the seats he contested from Gundna and Marmat segments of Jammu and Kashmir’s Doda district.

Parihar dropped to NC candidate Asim Hashmi by 1,336 votes. Hashmi polled 7,835 votes, while Parihar 6,499, in accordance to the facts. Parihar dropped the Marmat seat by 1,330 votes as he polled 7,033 votes towards Congress candidate Mushtaq Ahmed, who polled 8,363 votes. Parihar, who was the vice president of BJP’s J&K unit, is thought of to be an vital player in the location and was a minister in the BJP-PDP authorities.

Former BJP MLAs Gharu Ram and Bharat Bushan won their seats in Jammu district, even though former legislators Kanta Andhotra, Shahnaz Ganai, Shah Mohmmad Tantray and Mumtaz Khan lost their election. The PAGD swept the maiden DDC polls by winning 110 seats, even though the BJP emerged as the one major bash by obtaining 74 seats right after securing the greatest vote share in Jammu and Kashmir, officers mentioned on Wednesday.

The effects of four constituencies – just one just about every in Bandipora and Kupwara districts of north Kashmir and Poonch and Rajouri districts in Jammu region – have been awaited.

Source (important)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *